State Opioid Response Grant

The State Opioid Response (SOR) grant is a program funded by the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA). The grant's goal is to help the community access:

  • Medication Assisted Treatment (MAT).
  • coordinated and integrated care.
  • opioid use disorder (OUD)/stimulant use disorder recovery support services.

For more information visit: https://www.azahcccs.gov/Resources/Grants/SOR/

Funding targets the following populations:

  • Individuals re-entering the community from correctional settings
  • Individuals in rural and isolated areas
  • Individuals experiencing homelessness
  • Tribal populations
  • Veterans, military service members and military families
  • Pregnant women and parents with OUD
  • Individuals who have experienced trauma, toxic stress, or adverse childhood experiences (ACEs)

State Opioid Response (SOR) grant providers:

Provider Name

Description of Services

Program Contact Information

Arizona Spinal Cord Injury Association

Sustain: Recovery and treatment options for individuals with Spinal Cord Injury and other physical disabilities that are currently battling opioid/stimulant addictions.

Shannon Carter: shannon@azspinal.org

Allison Harris: allison@azspinal.org

 

Brain Injury Alliance of Arizona

Sustain: Recovery and treatment options for individuals with Spinal Cord Injury and other physical disabilities that are currently battling opioid/stimulant addictions.

Carrie Collins Fadell: carrie@biaaz.org

 

Community Bridges, Inc.

24/7 Access Point (OTP)

Sustain: Retention of Jail Navigators, Housing Navigators, and advent of new first responder navigator Expansion of Navigator workforce to include women’s services navigators affiliated with Center for Hope Expansion of Rapid Rehousing Programming rental and utility assistance.

Eric Alfrey: ealfrey@cbridges.com

Maria Robinson: mrobinson@cbridges.com

Community Medical Services

24/7 Access Point (OTP)

 

Sustain: Peer support and outreach services within correctional environments, connecting members with OUD and SUD to services

Expand: Viral Hepatitis Testing and Benefits Navigation

Tina Braham: Tina.braham@cmsgiveshope.com

Michelle Brandon: Michelle.Brandon@cmsgiveshope.com   

Family Involvement Center (FIC)

Sustain: Parent Ally Program Model connects adults who have recently been reunified with their children to provide peer support to a parent whose child or children have been removed.

Karin Kline: karin@familyinvolvementcenter.org

 

Hushabye Nursery

Sustain: Neonatal Abstinence Syndrome (NAS) specialty recovery center, protecting NICUs ability to keep and care for critically ill infants.

Tara Sundem: tara.sundem@hushabyenursery.org

 

Intensive Treatment Systems (ITS)

Expand: mobile delivery of health literacy education, peer led services for employment, transit to appointments and general coordination with community agencies, counseling, and telehealth services

Daniella Sabur: daniellasabur@itsofaz.com

 

National Council on Alcoholism and Drug Dependence (NCADD)

Sustain: Outreach and engagement; quick intake, assessment, and referral; housing; long-term vocational counseling; indefinite after- care support; peer support; and programs specifically tailored to the needs of pregnant women.

Carol Lagnese: caroll@azwomensrecoverycenter.org

 

Sonoran Prevention Works (SPW)

Sustain: Street outreach, harm reduction, and overdose prevention in Central Arizona

Valerie Martinez: Vmartinez@spwaz.org

 

Southwest Behavioral Health Services (SWBH)

Sustain: Correctional Health and Phoenix Municipal coordination and Navigation for access to care for OUD/SUD.

Sustain: Team includes a peer Housing Navigator to assist with housing placement for both temporary and permanent housing options.

Heather Genovese: heatherG@sbhservices.org

Ken Curry: KenC@SBHSERVICES.ORG

Terros Health

HIV, Viral Hepatitis testing and EBP Prevention

Current SABG Prevention & HIV Early Intervention Partner,

Ryan White HIV/AIDS program recipient

Damara Lawshe: Damara.Lawshe@terroshealth.org

 

 

Valle Del Sol

Sustain: Peer Certification initiatives, Housing Specialist & Housing Dollars through Tenant based rental assistance. Includes provisions for Telehealth administration

Supportive services of those who test positive for HIV and Hep.

Carmen Heredia: carmenh@valledelsol.com

Vickey Edwards: vickeye@valledelsol.com

 

 

 

Government Performance and Results Act (GPRA):

GPRA documents are required for under/uninsured members, including Titled XIX/XXI and Non-Titled XIX/XXI individuals, receiving State Opioid Response (SOR) Grant funded services. Providers serving members under the SOR Grant are required to complete GPRA at intakes, 6-month follow-ups and at discharge. The intention of GPRA is to appropriately measure progress throughout the receipt of substance use services under the grant.

AHCCCS has partnered with Wellington Group to develop and Mana GPRA portal for grants. Providers serving any individuals under the grant will complete a training and be granted access to entering GPRA into the portal. GPRA are then tracked in this portal and providers are alerted when a member is due for a follow-up GPRA submission. Providers are also able to see metrics of completion percentages and discharges, allowing opportunities for trended success rates.

If you have any questions or would like more information on SOR Grant and Opioid response, please contact the Mercy Care Clinical Operations team email at grants@mercycareaz.org.