Behavioral Health in Schools

Mental health conditions can affect anyone including school-aged children. One in 5 children is affected by a mental health condition. The two most common conditions among children and adolescents are anxiety and depression but other difficulties can affect their ability to benefit from their classroom.

Mental health issues among children are described as serious changes in the way they learn, behave or handle their emotions that causes distress and problems getting through the day. It's important to watch for symptoms in children because they can affect a childs overall health and relationships throughout life. Identifying problems early can help children get the support they need.

If a school district or school within Arizona would like information on behavioral health providers within their geographic area or are interested in obtaining a partnership with a behavioral health provider, schools can reach out to Lauren Tomchak, TomchakL@mercycareaz.org for more information.

The Children’s Behavioral Health Services Fund (CBHSF), in Senate Bill 1523, provides funding for behavioral health services for children who are uninsured or underinsured when behavioral health services are referred through an educational institution. Schools that meet the requirement are able to refer students for behavioral health services and services can be provided on or off school campuses.

For more information on this funding, go to the AHCCCS website: www.azahcccs.gov/AHCCCS/Initiatives/BehavioralHealthServices

If you have questions or need assistance completing the referral forms, outreach the provider contacts listed below.

Provider Name

Contact Information

Referral Form

Arizona Youth & Family Services

Jennifer Sander:  Jennifer.sander@azyfs.org. 

Direct:  602-277-4833 x 303
Referral Email: QSPreferral@azyfs.org

AYFS School Referral and FAQs

Community Bridges, Inc.

Shannon Powell, Spowell@Cbridges.com

 CBI Adolescent Referral Form

Devereux

Maricopa County Referrals:

Valerie Malone    AZOpReferrals@devereux.org

 

 Devereux CBHSF Referral Form

Family Involvement Center*

Parent Assistance Center/Parent HelpLine  

602-288-0155

Vania Schmidt, Vania@FamilyInvolvementCenter.org  
Olivia Ruiz,  Olivia@FamilyInvolvementCenter.org
Sarah Fleming, Sarah@FamilyInvolvementCenter.org

 FIC Referral Form for School Services

Horizon Health and Wellness

HHW Eligibility and Benefits Department: EB@hhwaz.org

 

 HHW School Referral Form

Jewish Family and Children’s Service

Referrals should be sent to the existing CSRC fax # 602-254-8611

 

CSRC Telephone # 602-256-0528

 JFCS BH Referral Form

LaFrontera-EMPACT

Referrals-Outpatient@lafrontera-empact.org

 LaFrontera-EMPACT Referral Form

New Hope of Arizona, Inc.*

Name: Juan Alvarez

Email: referral@newhopeofarizona.com

 

 New Hope School Referral Form

Open Hearts

Email:

spalmer@openheartsaz.org opreferrals@openheartsaz.org

 

Phone: 602-285-5550

 Open Hearts Family Wellness Referral Form

Pathways of Arizona*

Pathways of Arizona Admissions Department
(520) 748-7108
admissionstucson@pathways.com

Robyn Dafoe
Director of Clinical Operations and Foster Care
(520) 570-1443

 Pathways School-Based Service Form

Resilient Health

1-877-779-2470 or 602-995-1767

Email referrals to: Referrals@rhaz.org

 

 Resilient Health Referral Form

Southwest Behavioral & Health Services (SB&H)

SchoolBasedReferrals@sbhservices.org

 SBandH Referral School Form

Southwest Network

602.304.0014  childrensleadership@southwestnetwork.org

 SWN School Referral Form

Terros Health

ChildrensDepartment@terroshealth.org

602-389-3660

 Terros School Referral Forms:

English / Spanish

The Resolution Group Inc.*

referrals@trzg.net

480 962-9288 X 2

 The Resolution Group School Referral Form

Touchstone Health Services

Members: Member Services at 866.207.3882


Schools: Erica Chavez Erica.Chavez@touchstonebh.org

 THS Referral Form

Valle Del Sol

SchoolOutreach@valledelsol.com

 Valle Del Sol Referral Form

 

*=Specialty Provider