معلومات العضو

تلبية احتياجاتك هي أهم أولوياتنا.

الحفاظ على صحتك أمر مهم بالنسبة لنا. نرغب في مساعدتك في إدارة صحتك وتحسين رعايتك. ونحن هنا لتقديم العون لك. إذا كنت عضوًا في خطة، فيرجى التواصل معنا لإعلامنا إذا كنت تحتاج إلى مساعدة. ممثلو خدمات أعضاء Mercy Care متاحون لمساعدتك من الاثنين حتى الجمعة، من الساعة 7 صباحًا وحتى الساعة 6 مساءً. ما عليك إلا الاتصال بالرقم 602-263-3000 أو الرقم المجاني 1-800-624-3879 (الهاتف النصي/جهاز التواصل عن بعد للصم 711).

هل تحتاج إلى مساعدة في إدارة صحتك؟
تحتاج أحيانًا إلى بعض المساعدة الإضافية لمعالجة مشكلة صحية. ولذلك فإننا نعرض تقديم إدارة الحالات.

لا يحتاج الجميع إلى مدير حالة ولكن من يحتاجون إليه يكونون في أمس الحاجة إليه لفترة قصيرة. يمكن لمدير الحالة أن يوضح لك كيفية الحصول على الخدمات لتحسين صحتك. وهدفنا هو مساعدتك في معرفة كيفية العناية بنفسك.

إذا كانت إجابتك بنعم على أي من هذه الأسئلة، فقد ترغب في السؤال بشأن الحصول على خدمات إدارة الحالة.

  • هل تذهب إلى غرفة الطوارئ (ER) كثيرًا؟
  • هل تواجه وقتًا صعبًا في الحصول على الدواء أو المستلزمات التي أمر بها طبيبك؟
  • هل تحتاج إلى مساعدة في الحصول على Arizona Long Term Care System؟
  • هل تعاني من فيروس نقص المناعة البشرية (HIV)؟
  • هل تعاني من حالات طبية، مثل ارتفاع ضغط الدم والسكري والربو ومرض القلب الاحتقاني، ولا تتحسن من خلال تناول الدواء؟
  • هل لا تعلم لماذا يرسلك طبيب الرعاية الأولية إلى مقدم خدمات متخصص؟
  • هل أنت حامل وتواجهين مشاكل؟
  • هل أنت مراهقة حامل؟
  • هل أنت حامل وعمرك أكثر من 35 عامًا؟
  • هل وُلد طفل لك مبكرًا جدًا؟

إذا كانت إجابتك بنعم، يمكنك مطالبة طبيبك بإحالتك للحصول على خدمات إدارة الحالة. ويمكنك أيضًا الاتصال بخدمات Mercy Care Plan مباشرة. وستنظر ممرضة في طلبك وتقرر ما إذا كنت بحاجة لمقابلة مدير حالة.

إذا كانت لديك واحدة من الحالات الطبية التالية:  الاكتئاب أو ارتفاع ضغط الدم أو السكري أو الربو أو مرض القلب الاحتقاني، فيرجى الاتصال بنا حتى نتمكن من مساعدتك في العناية بمرضك.

لطلب توفير مدير حالة طبي، يرجى الاتصال بالرقم: ‎602-453-8391

لطلب مدير حالة خلال حملك، يرجى الاتصال بالرقم: ‎602-798-2703

 

متى تستخدم غرفة الطوارئ

متطلبات مشاركة في السداد جديدة للاستخدام غير الطارئ لغرفة الطوارئ. سيكون أعضاء Mercy Care البالغين مُطالبين قريبًا من قِبل برنامج Arizona Health Care Cost Containment System‏ (AHCCCS) بسداد 8.00 دولارات مشاركة في السداد عند استخدام غرفة الطوارئ لحالة غير طارئة.

كيف تشير إلى أن الحالة طارئة، حيث تعد الحالات الطارئة مهددة للحياة. فيما يلي أمثلة على أشياء لا تعد حالات طارئة وأشياء تعد كذلك. إذا لم تكن متأكدًا، فاتصل بطبيبك. يمكنك أيضًا الاتصال بخط Nurse Line على الرقم 602-263-3000 أو 1-800-624-3879 وتحديد الخيار "speak to a nurse" (التحدث مع ممرضة). يتوفر خط nurse line على مدار الساعة وطوال أيام الأسبوع للرد على الأسئلة الطبية العامة.

الحالات غير الطارئة:

  • الإنفلونزا
  • البرد
  • التهاب الحلق
  • ألم الأذن
  • صُداع
  • طلبات أو عمليات إعادة صرف الوصفات الطبية
  • إجهاد الظهر

الحالات الطارئة:

  • التسمم/الجرعة الزائدة
  • ألم شديد بالصدر
  • لا يمكنك تحريك يديك أو ساقيك
  • نزيف لا يمكنك إيقافه
  • فقدان الوعي
  • الجروح العميقة أو الحروق الشديدة
  • الحمل الذي يصاحبه نزيف شديد و/أو ألم 

 

هل الحالة طارئة حقًا؟ غرفة الطوارئ (ER) مخصصة للمشاكل الخطيرة مثل النوبات القلبية وكسور العظام والحروق الشديدة وحوادث السيارات. إذا كانت حياتك أو حياة طفلك معرّضة للخطر أو كانت لديك حالة طوارئ حقيقية، فاتصل برقم ‎9-1-1 مباشرة أو اذهب إلى أقرب غرفة طوارئ (ER). ولكن، إذا ذهبت إلى غرفة الطوارئ (ER) لأنك تعتقد أنه سيتم الكشف عليك بسرعة أكبر، فمن الأرجح أن تضطر إلى الانتظار. في غرفة الطوارئ (ER)، أي شيء باستثناء الحالات الطارئة الحقيقية عليه الانتظار، حتى إذا كنت أول شخص هناك. قد يتعين عليك أيضًا دفع مبلغ المشاركة في السداد. وذلك لأنك ذهبت إلى غرفة الطوارئ (ER) دون أن تعاني من حالة طارئة.

متى تستخدم الرعاية العاجلة

هل تحتاج إلى رعاية طبية عاجلة؟ هل لا تستطيع تحديد موعد مع طبيبك؟

قد يذهب أعضاء Mercy Care إلى مراكز الرعاية العاجلة المتعاقدة للمشاكل الطبية العاجلة. يعالج أطباء الرعاية العاجلة الأطفال والبالغين. إذا تعرضت للمرض أو لحادث، فاتصل بطبيبك أولاً، إذا لم تتمكن من تحديد موعد في نفس اليوم، يمكنك الحصول على الرعاية الطبية فورًا. التوجه إلى مركز رعاية عاجلة لأشياء مثل:

  • حالات الإنفلونزا والتهاب الحلق وألم الأذن
  • ألم الظهر
  • حالات الصداع الشقي
  • التواء المفاصل

 

للحصول على قائمة كاملة بمراكز رعاية Mercy Care العاجلة، انتقل إلى "Find a Provider" (البحث عن مقدم خدمات) في أعلى الصفحة.

 


DispatchHealth

يمكن الآن لأعضاء Mercy Care الحصول على الرعاية في منزلهم. أبرمنا شراكة مع DispatchHealth، شركة توفر الرعاية العاجلة لك. بدلاً من الذهاب إلى غرفة طوارئ أو إلى رعاية عاجلة، يمكن أن يأتي فريق طبي مدرّب على تقديم خدمات غرفة الطوارئ إلى منزلك في ساعات قليلة. يمكنك البقاء في منزلك والتركيز على التعافي بصورة أفضل. ما عليك إلا الاتصال بالرقم 480-493-3444، طوال أيام الأسبوع، من الساعة 8 صباحًا حتى 8 مساءً أو زيارة dispatchhealth.com. يعالج DispatchHealth كل شيء يمكن للرعاية العاجلة علاجه، علاوة على المزيد. بما في ذلك الحالات الشائعة مثل:

  • الحمى / الإنفلونزا
  • حالات الصداع / الصداع النصفي
  • عدوى المسالك البولية
  • الربو
  • الحساسية الموسمية
  • عدوى المسلك التنفسي العلوي
  • تهيج أو عدوى في العين
  • احمرار العينين
  • طفح جلدي / عدوى جلدية
  • غثيان / قيء
  • الإسهال
  • الإمساك

 

 

للمساعدة في تزويد أعضائنا برعاية متسقة عالية الجودة تستخدم الخدمات والموارد بفعالية، اخترنا بعض الإرشادات السريرية لمساعدة مقدمي الخدمات لدينا. هناك بروتوكولات علاج لحالات محددة وكذلك إرشادات للصحة الوقائية.

تهدف هذه الإرشادات لتوضيح المعايير والتوقعات. يجب ألا يكون هدفها:

  • أن تأتي قبل مسؤوليتك لتقديم علاج يستند إلى احتياجات العضو الفردية.
  • أن تحل محل أوامر العلاج الخاصة بعضو.
  • ضمان التغطية أو الدفع لنوع أو مستوى الرعاية المقترح أو المقدم.

قمنا باعتماد المبادئ القائمة على الأدلة المنشورة.

لمعرفة المزيد حول الإرشادات وللوصول إلى مجموعات أدوات مفيدة في علاج اضطرابات الصحة السلوكية المتنوعة، اتبع الارتباطات أدناه:

توجيهات وصف الأدوية الأفيونية في أريزونا


التوجيهات السريرية لعلاج الأطفال

إذا كنت طبيب أطفال أو ممارس طب العائلة يعمل مع الأطفال، فتأكد من فهم برنامج الفحص المبكر والدوري والتشخيص والعلاج (EPSDT) تمامًا ومن الاعتياد على جدول تطعيمات الأطفال.

  • برنامج EPSDT: للمساعدة في ضمان تلقي الأطفال الأقل من 18 عامًا للفحوصات والرعاية الوقائية التي يحتاجون إليها، يرجى الرجوع إلى جدول انتظام EPSDT.

جدول تطعيمات الأطفال


التوجيهات السريرية لعلاج البالغين

بينما يتقدم المريض في العمر، يظل من المهم اكتشاف الأمراض في أسرع وقت ممكن للتمكّن من تقديم أفضل رعاية يمكن أن يؤدي أفضل النتائج الممكنة. تعرّف على المزيد حول إرشادات العلاج والوقاية لحالات محددة للبالغين.

  • جدول تطعيمات البالغين: لا تنسَ - الأطفال ليسوا الشخصيات الوحيدة التي تحتاج إلى تطعيمات. تأكد من أن الأعضاء البالغين محدّثون بخصوص الإنفلونزا والتهاب الكبد A وB وMMR ولقاحات أخرى.
  • التوجيهات السريرية لالتهاب الرئة المكتسب من المجتمع (CAP): تهدف التوجيهات السريرية لـ CAP إلى وضع نهج متكامل لإدارة المريض الخارجي المصاب بالتهاب الرئة المكتسب من المجتمع من خلال التأكيد على الوقاية والاكتشاف المبكر وتثقيف المريض.عرض التوجيهات من موقع Infectious Diseases Society of America على الويب وAmerican Thoracic Society Consensus.
  • توجيهات HIV: تنصح Mercy Care مقدمي الخدمات بالرجوع إلى الإرشادات والموارد المقدمة من قِبل National Institutes of Health في موقعه على الويب.
  • إرشادات الرعاية الصحية الوقائية للبالغين:

الاختبار

  • 18-25
  • 26-39
  • 40-49
  • 50-65
  • يبلغون من العمر 65 عامًا وأكبر

(فحص الحفاظ على الصحة حسب العمر)

 

اختبارات باب (فحص سرطان عنق الرحم)

فحص مرض السكري

التكرار

  • كل 5 أعوام
  • كل 5 أعوام
  • كل 3 أعوام
  • كل سنة إلى سنتين
  • كل سنة إلى سنتين

كل عام إلى ثلاثة أعوام (1-3) بدءًا من سن 18 عامًا أو عند النشاط من الناحية الجنسية. قد يقل المعدل عندما لا يكون هناك تاريخ من اختبارات باب غير الطبيعية وتكون هناك ثلاثة اختبارات أو أكثر بنتيجة طبيعية.

يتم إجراء الاختبار في سن 45 سنة للبالغين الذين لا يعانون من أعراض وبعد ذلك كل ثلاث (3) سنوات.


علاج اضطرابات الصحة السلوكية في الأطفال

إذا كنت تعالج طفلاً يعاني من اضطرابات الصحة السلوكية، فإن Mercy Care توفر مجموعة متنوعة من الموارد المتعلقة بالقلق والاكتئاب واضطراب نقص الانتباه مع فرط النشاط. انقر فوق الارتباطات أدناه لتنزيل ملفات PDF لهذه الموارد والأدوات.

القلق

الاكتئاب

اضطراب نقص الانتباه مع فرط النشاط (ADHD)


علاج اضطرابات الصحة السلوكية في البالغين

تهدف الموارد التالية إلى مساعدة مقدمي الرعاية الصحية السلوكية في تشخيص وعلاج اضطرابات الصحة السلوكية لدى البالغين. انقر فوق الارتباطات أدناه لتنزيل ملفات PDF للمجموعات الأدوات.

 

تستخدم Mercy Care معايير معترف بها وطنياً و/أو مطورة من المجتمع وقائمة على الأدلة لاتخاذ قرارات بشأن الضرورة الطبية.

يتم تطبيق المعايير بناءً على احتياجات أعضائنا وخصائص نظام التوصيل المحلي. يتم تدريب الموظفين الذين يتخذون قرارات الضرورة الطبية على المعايير. ويتم قبول المعايير التي يستخدمونها ومراجعتها بناءً على سياسات وإجراءات Mercy Care.

يتم مراجعة المعايير سنويًا من قبل الممارسين المناسبين. إنهم يساعدون في تطوير المعايير أو اعتمادها أو مراجعتها. كما يتأكدون من أنه مناسب لاحتياجات أعضائنا. يتم تحديث المعايير أيضًا عند تحديث توجيهات الممارسة السريرية الوطنية أو المجتمعية.

نطبق المعايير باستمرار، مع مراعاة احتياجات الأعضاء. نتشاور مع الممارسين / مقدمي الخدمات المطلوبين عندما يكون ذلك مناسبًا.

لمراجعات الرعاية الطبية للمرضى الداخليين، تستخدم Mercy Care المعايير التالية:

  • المعايير المطلوبة من قبل الدولة المعمول بها او الجهات الرقابية الاتحادية
  • تنطبق توجيهات Applicable Milliman Care (MCG) باعتبارها الداعم الأساسي للقرار لمعظم التشخيصات والحالات السريرية
  • نشرات سياسة Aetna السريرية (CPB’s)
  • إيتنا مراجعة مجلس السريرية سياسة (أقران)

لمراجعات الرعاية الصحية السلوكية للمرضى الداخليين، تستخدم Mercy Care المعايير التالية:

  • المعايير المطلوبة المعمول بها من قبل الوكالات التنظيمية الفيدرالية والتابعة للولاية
  • توجيهات Milliman Care (MCG). هذه توجيهات لإدارة الرعاية تستند إلى أحدث الأبحاث والمقالات العلمية وتحليل البيانات.
  • الجمعية الأمريكية لطب الإدمان (ASAM) PPC-2R. هذا دليل يقدم توجيهات حول النوع المناسب للرعاية ومستوى شدة الرعاية للأشخاص المصابين بأمراض الإدمان.
  • أداة قياس شدة مستوى خدمة الأطفال والمراهقين (CASII). هذه أداة تقييم معيارية توفر تحديد المستوى المناسب لشدة مستوى الخدمة التي يحتاجها الطفل أو الشاب وعائلته.
  • نظام مستوى الاستفادة من الرعاية (LOCUS). تم تصميم هذه الأداة من قبل American Association of Community Psychiatrists. يسمح للموظفين الذين يعملون في بيئات المستشفيات الداخلية مع مرضى يعانون من مشاكل نفسية (مثل أقسام الطوارئ أو أقسام الطب النفسي في المستشفيات العامة أو في مستشفيات الأمراض النفسية) بتحديد مستوى الرعاية التي يجب أن يتلقاها الفرد
  • إيتنا نشرات سياسة السريرية (CPBS)
  • إيتنا مراجعة مجلس السريرية سياسة (أقران)

يمكنك عرض أو تنزيل نتائج مسوحات أعضاء ومقدمي خدمات Mercy Care:

يمكنك أيضًا عرض مسوحات رضا عملاء AHCCCS التالية على موقع AHCCCS:نتائج مسح الأعضاء ونتائج مسح مقدمي الخدمات ونتائج قياس الأداء ومقاييس أداء AHCCCS.

الحصول على الخدمات المتخصصة

هناك أوقات لا يمكن علاج مشكلة صحية خلالها من قِبل طبيبك وحده ويلزم اللجوء خلالها إلى الرعاية المتخصصة. إذا احتجت إلى رعاية من مقدم خدمات متخصص، فسيحتاج مقدم الرعاية الأولية لطلب إحالة لك. ستحتاج بعض الخدمات الطبية المغطاة إلى تصريح مسبق قبل أن تتمكّن من تلقي الخدمة.

الإحالات

وتتم الإحالة عندما يرسلك مقدم الرعاية الأولية (PCP) إلى مقدم خدمات أخصائي بشأن مشكلة محددة. وقد يشتمل ذلك على مشاكل القلب أو اضطرابات الجلد أو الحساسية الشديدة. ويمكن أن تكون الإحالة أيضًا إلى مختبر أو مستشفى، أو غير ذلك. ويمكنك أيضًا طلب رأي ثانٍ من طبيب آخر تابع لخطة Mercy Care.

التصريحات المسبقة

التصريح المسبق هو الحصول على موافقة من Mercy Care للحصول على الخدمات الخاصة التي يطلب مقدم الرعاية الأولية أو مقدم الخدمات المتخصص تلقيك لها. وقد نستغرق ما يصل إلى 14 يومًا للموافقة على طلب التصريح الروتيني وثلاثة (3) أيام عمل للموافقة على الطلب العاجل.

إذا كنا بحاجة إلى معلومات إضافية للموافقة على الطلب، فقد يتطلب ذلك التمديد لمدة 14 يومًا. وفي حالة عدم تلقينا المعلومات المطلوبة من طبيبك، قد نرفض الطلب. سيصلك رسالة عبارة عن إخطار بإجراء يوضح لك حقوقك في هذه الحالة. 

وإذا أرسل طبيبك طلب تصريح عاجل ولم يكن مستوفيًا لمعايير الطلب العاجل، فسنرسل لك خطابًا نخبرك فيه بأنه ستتم معالجته كطلب عادي. ويمكنك تقديم تظلم، إذا كنت غير موافق. يرجى الانتقال إلى التظلمات للحصول على مزيد من المعلومات.

انقر فوق الرابط الموضح أدناه لمعرفة ما إذا كانت الخدمة تتطلب موافقة مسبقة. لا تحتاج إلى موافقة من Mercy Care للحصول على رعاية الطوارئ.

يُتوقع من مقدمي الخدمات بخطة Mercy Care اتباع إرشادات معيّنة عند تقديم الرعاية لأعضائنا. وإذا احتجت إلى مساعدة في فهم أيًّا من هذه التوجيهات، فيرجى الاتصال بخدمات الأعضاء وطلب التحدث إلى ممرضة لمساعدتك.

تتطلب بعض خدمات المرضى الخارجيين الحادة وحالات دخول المستشفى المخطط لها تصريحًا مسبقًا قبل إمكانية تغطية الخدمة. يرجى الرجوع إلى دليل التغطية لمزيد من التوضيح حول الخدمات والظروف التي تتطلب تصريحًا مسبقًا.

Member Information

Your needs are our top priority

Keeping you healthy is important to us. We want to help you manage your health and improve your care. We are here to help. If you are a plan member, please contact us to let us know if you need help. Mercy Care Member Services representatives are available to help you Monday through Friday, 7 a.m. to 6 p.m. Just call 602-263-3000 or toll-free 1-800-624-3879 (TTY/TDD 711).

Do you need help managing your health?
Sometimes you need some extra help to cope with a health issue. That’s why we offer Case Management.

Not everyone needs a case manager, but those who do, mostly need one for a short time. A case manager can show you how to get services to improve your health. Our goal is to help you learn how to take care of yourself.

If you answer yes to any of these questions, you may want to ask about getting Case Management services.

  • Do you go to the ER a lot?
  • Are you having a hard time getting your medication or supplies that your doctor ordered?
  • Do you need help getting on the Arizona Long Term Care System?
  • Do you have HIV?
  • Do you have medical conditions, such as high blood pressure, diabetes, asthma and congestive heart disease, that don’t get better with medication?
  • Do you not know why your primary care doctor is sending you to a specialist provider?
  • Are you pregnant and having problems?
  • Are you a pregnant teenager?
  • Are you pregnant and over 35 years old?
  • Did you have a baby born too early?

If you answered yes, you can ask your doctor to refer you for Case Management services. You can also call Mercy Care Plan directly. A nurse will look at your request and decide if you need to meet with a case manager.

If you have one of the following medical conditions:  depression, high blood pressure, diabetes, asthma or congestive heart disease, please contact us so we can help you take care of your disease.

To request a medical case manager, please call: 602-453-8391

To request a case manager during your pregnancy, please call: 602-798-2703

 

When to Use the Emergency Room

New co-pay requirement for non-emergent use of the Emergency Room. Mercy Care adult members will soon be required by the Arizona Cost Containment System (AHCCCS) to pay an $8.00 co-pay when using the emergency room for a non-emergency.

How to tell if it's an emergency Emergencies are life-threatening. Here are examples of things that are NOT emergencies and some that are. If you are not sure, call your doctor. You call also call the Nurse Line at 602-263-3000 or 1-800-624-3879 and select the "speak to a nurse" option. The nurse line is available 24 hours a day/7 days per week, and is available to answer general medical questions.

Non-Emergencies:

  • Flu
  • Cold
  • Sore throat
  • Earache
  • Headache
  • Prescription refill or request
  • Back strain

Emergencies:

  • Poisoning/overdose
  • Severe chest pain
  • You cannot move your arms or legs
  • Bleeding that you cannot stop
  • Loss of consciousness
  • Deep cuts or serious burns
  • Pregnant with severe bleeding and/or pain 

 

Is it really an emergency? The emergency room (ER) is for serious problems like heart attacks, broken bones, bad burns and car accidents. If your life or your child's life is in danger or you have a real emergency, call 9-1-1 right away or go to the closest ER. But, if you go to the ER because you think you will be seen more quickly, you will most likely have to wait. In the ER, anything except a real emergency has to wait, even if you were there first. You may also have to pay a co-payment. This is because you went to the ER but did not have an emergency.

When to use Urgent Care

Do you need urgent medical care? Can't get an appointment with your doctor?

Mercy Care members may go to contracted urgent care centers for urgent medical problems. Urgent care doctors treat both children and adults. If you get sick or have an accident, call your doctor first If you can't get a same day appointment you can still get medical care right away. Go to an urgent care center for things like:

  • Flu, bad sore throats, earaches
  • Back pain
  • Migraine headaches
  • Sprains

 

For a complete listing of Mercy Care urgent care centers go to Find a provider at the top of the page.

 


DispatchHealth

Mercy Care members can now get care in the comfort of your home. We’ve partnered with DispatchHealth, a company that delivers urgent care to you. Instead of going to the ER or to urgent care, an ER-trained medical team can come to your home in a few hours. You can stay home and focus on feeling better. Just call 480-493-3444, 7 days a week, 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. or visit dispatchhealth.com. DispatchHealth treats everything an urgent care can, plus more. Including common conditions like:

  • Fever / flu
  • Headaches / migraines
  • Urinary tract infection
  • Asthma
  • Seasonal allergies
  • Upper respiratory tract infection
  • Eye infection or irritation
  • Pink eye
  • Skin infection / rash
  • Nausea / vomiting
  • Diarrhea
  • Constipation

Walgreens Healthcare Clinics

Mercy Care and Mercy Care Advantage members can get care at Walgreens Healthcare Clinics in Phoenix and Tucson! The relationship you have with your doctor or other primary care provider is very important. But sometimes you need care right away, like in the evening or on the weekend. If you can’t get in to see your doctor and it’s not an emergency, you can visit a Walgreens Healthcare Clinic. These clinics include:

  • Treatment for Mercy Care and Mercy Care Advantage MCA members ages 18 months and older
  • Services available to members seven (7) days a week
  • Treatment with no appointment needed; walk-ins accepted
  • Treatment from board-certified nurse practitioners and physician assistants
  • Prescriptions when clinically appropriate (you do not have to get your prescriptions filled at Walgreens)
  • A follow-up call to the member by the clinic within 48 hours of clinic visit
  • Collaboration with your primary care physicians after treatment, sharing medical records and visit notes as directed

  Find the Walgreens Healthcare Clinic nearest you.

 

To help provide our members with consistent, high-quality care that utilizes services and resources effectively, we have chosen certain clinical guidelines to help our providers. These are treatment protocols for specific conditions as well as preventive health guidelines.

These guidelines are intended to clarify standards and expectations. They should not:

  • Come before your responsibility to provide treatment based on the member’s individual needs.
  • Substitute as orders for treatment of a member.
  • Guarantee coverage or payment for the type or level of care proposed or provided.

We have adopted the these evidence-based guidelines.

To learn more about the guidelines and to access helpful tool kits on treating various behavioral disorders, follow the links below:

Arizona Opioid Prescribing Guidelines


Clinical guidelines for the treatment of children

If you are a pediatrician or family medicine practitioner working with children, make sure you fully understand the Early Periodic Screening, Diagnosis and Treatment (EPSDT) Program and are familiar with the Childhood Immunization Schedule.

  • EPSDT Program: To help ensure children under age 18 get the screenings and preventive care they need, please refer to the EPSDT Periodicity Schedule.

Childhood Immunization Schedule


Clinical guidelines for the treatment of adults

As patients age, it remains important that we catch diseases as early as possible to be able to provide the best care that can lead to the best possible outcomes. Learn more about preventive and treatment guidelines for specific conditions in adults.

  • Adult immunization schedule: Don’t forget – kids aren’t the only ones who need immunizations. Make sure adult members are up-to-date on their influenza, Hepatitis A and B, MMR and other vaccines.
  • Community-Acquired Pneumonia (CAP) Clinical: The CAP Clinical Guidelines is to develop an integrated approach to the outpatient management of CAP with an emphasis on prevention, early detection and patient education. View  guidelines from the Infectious Diseases Society of America website and American Thoracic Society Consensus.
  • HIV guidelines: Mercy Care advises providers to refer to the guidelines and resources provided by the National Institutes of Health on its website.
  • Preventive health care guidelines for adults:

Test

  • 18-25
  • 26-39
  • 40-49
  • 50-65
  • 65 and older

(health maintenance exam by age)

 

Pap tests (cervical cancer screening)

Diabetes screening

Frequency

 Every 5 years

 Every 5 years

 Every 3 years

 Every 1-2 years

 Every 1-2 years

Every one to three (1-3) years starting at age 18 or when sexually active. Frequency may decrease when there is no history of abnormal Pap tests and three or more tests are normal.

Test at age 45 for adults with no symptoms and then every three (3) years.


Treating behavioral health disorders in children

If you are treating children with behavioral health disorders, Mercy Care offers a variety of resources related to anxiety, depression and ADHD. Click on the links below to download PDFs of these resources and tools.

Anxiety

Depression

Attention Deficit/Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)


Treating behavioral health disorders in adults

The follow resources are intended to help behavioral health providers diagnose and treat behavior health disorders in adults. Click on the links below to download PDFs of the tool kits.

 

Mercy Care uses nationally recognized and/or community-developed, evidence-based criteria to make decisions about medical necessity.

The criteria is applied based on the needs of our members and characteristics of the local delivery system. The staff that make medical necessity determinations are trained on the criteria. And, the criteria they use is accepted and reviewed based on Mercy Care’s policies and procedures.

The criteria is reviewed annually by the proper practitioners. They help in developing, adopting, or reviewing criteria. They also make sure it’s r for our member’s needs. The criteria is also updated when national or community-based clinical practice guidelines are updated. 

We apply the criteria consistently, considering the needs of members. We consult with requesting practitioners/providers when it’s appropriate.

For inpatient medical care reviews, Mercy Care uses the following criteria:

  • Criteria required by applicable state or federal regulatory agency
  • Applicable Milliman Care Guidelines (MCG) as the primary decision support for most clinical diagnoses and conditions
  • Aetna Clinical Policy Bulletins (CPB’s) 
  • Aetna Clinical Policy Council Review (ad hoc)

For inpatient behavioral health care reviews, Mercy Care uses the following criteria:

  • Criteria required by applicable federal and state regulatory agencies
  • Milliman Care Guidelines (MCG). These are care management guidelines based on the latest research and scholarly articles and data analysis.
  • American Society of Addiction Medicine (ASAM) PPC-2R. This is a guide that provides guidelines about the proper type of care and the level of intensity of care for people with addictive diseases.
  • The Child and Adolescent Service Intensity Instrument (CASII). This is a standardized assessment tool that provides a determination of the appropriate level of service intensity needed by a child or youth and his or her family.
  • The Level of Care Utilization System (LOCUS). This is tool designed by the American Association of Community Psychiatrists. It allows staff who work on inpatient hospital environments with patients with psychiatric problems (such as emergency departments, psychiatric sections of general hospitals or in psychiatric hospitals) to determine the level of care that an individual should receive.
  • Aetna Clinical Policy Bulletins (CPBs)
  • Aetna Clinical Policy Council Review (ad hoc)

Getting specialty services

There are times when a health problem can’t be treated by your doctor alone and specialty care may be needed. If you need care from a specialty provider, your PCP will need to request a referral for you. Some covered medical services will need prior authorization before you can receive the service.

Referrals

A referral is when your primary care provider (PCP) sends you to a specialist provider for a specific problem. This might include heart problems, skin disorders or serious allergies. A referral can also be to a lab or hospital, etc. You may also request a second opinion from another Mercy Care doctor.

Prior authorizations

A prior authorization is an approval from Mercy Care for you to get the special services your PCP or specialist provider wants you to receive. We may take up to 14 days to approve a routine authorization request and three (3) business days to approve an urgent request.

If we need additional information to authorize the request, a 14-day extension may be requested. If we do not receive the information requested from your doctor, we may deny the request. You will receive a notice of action letter that explains your rights. 

If your doctor sends in an urgent authorization request and it does not meet the criteria for an urgent request, we will send you a letter and let you know that it will be processed as a regular request. You can file a grievance if you disagree. Please go to Grievances for more information.

Click on the link below to see if a service requires pre-approval. You do not need approval from Mercy Care to get emergency services.

Mercy Care providers are expected to follow certain guidelines when giving our members care. If you need help understanding any of these guidelines, please call Member Services and ask to speak to a nurse who can help you.

Certain acute outpatient services and planned hospital admissions require prior authorization before the service can be covered. Please refer to the Evidence of Coverage for more explanation about which services and circumstances require prior authorization.