الصحة السلوكية

يتلقى الأعضاء تغطية صحية سلوكية من خلال Mercy Care Department of Child Safety Comprehensive Health Plan.

نحن هنا لمساعدتك أنت والأطفال في رعايتك. يتم تصميم خدمات الصحة السلوكية لدينا لتلبية احتياجات الأطفال وعائلاتهمنرغب في مساعدة الطفل والعائلة بالكامل في تحقيق النجاح. نعتقد أن علاج الطفل ككل هو أحد مفاتيح تحقيق هذا الهدف. تتيح لك Mercy Care DCS CHP أنت والعضو اختيار  مقدمي الرعاية الصحية للطفل. نتعاون معك أنت والطفل لإيجاد شخص يناسب أهداف الصحة والعافية للطفل.  

الإبعاد من المنزل والإيداع في الرعاية بالتكافل أمر صعب ويمكن أن يمثل تجربة صادمة لأي طفل. يتم إيداع الكثير من الأطفال في الرعاية بالتكافل بسبب بعض أشكال الإساءة أو الإهمال الخطيرة. وتوضح لنا الأبحاث أن الأطفال الموجودين في رعاية تربوية غالبًا ما تكون لديهم مشاكل عاطفية أو سلوكية أو متعلقة بالنمو. كما تعد مشاكل الصحة البدنية شائعة.يمكن أن تظهر هذه المشاكل والسلوكيات بشكل مفاجئ أو تحدث بمرور الوقت. إذا لاحظت طفلاً في رعايتك يبدي السلوكيات المثيرة للمشاكل، فقد يحتاج إلى دعم الصحة السلوكية الاحترافي. من المهم الإبلاغ عن أي من هذه السلوكيات لمقدم خدمات الصحة السلوكية وأخصائي DCS. 

عادة ما يواجه الأطفال الذين يعانون من أعراض الإجهاد الناجم عن الصدمة النفسية صعوبة في تنظيم سلوكياتهم وعواطفهم. قد يكونون غير مستقلين وخائفين من المواقف الجديدة و/أو يمكن تخويفهم بسهولة و/أو من الصعب مواساتهم و/أو يكونون عدوانيين ومتهورين. قد يواجهون أيضًا صعوبة في النوم ويبدون تراجعًا في الأداء الوظيفي والسلوك. فيما يتعلق بتكوين ارتباطات صحية، يشعر الأطفال الذين تعرضوا للصدمة بأن العالم غامض وغير ثابت. يمكن أن تتميز علاقاتهم بمشاكل تتعلق بالحدود بالإضافة إلى عدم الثقة والتشكيك. نتيجة لذلك، قد يصبح الأطفال الذين عانوا من صدمة نفسية معزولين من الناحية الاجتماعية ويواجهون صعوبة في الارتباط بالآخرين والتعاطف معهم. 

التعرف على نظام الصحة السلوكية 

تتم عادة التوصية بالحصول على خدمات الصحة السلوكية للأطفال الذين تم إيداعهم في الرعاية خارج المنزل لمعالجة المشاكل السلوكية لديهم. ويكون هذا مهمًا بصفة خاصة للأطفال الذين تقل أعمارهم عن ستة أعوام. من أفضل الممارسات أن يتم توفير مهني طبي في مجال الصحة السلوكية لتقييم ومراقبة احتياجات الصحة السلوكية الفريدة للأطفال الذين يتم إيداعهم في الرعاية خارج المنزل. 

الصحة السلوكية: تقييم الاستجابة السريعة المتكاملة ورعاية الصحة السلوكية المستمرة 

عانى جميع أعضاء Mercy Care DCS CHP من الصدمة ويجب عليهم تلقي تقييم الاستجابة السريعة المتكاملة من مقدم خدمات الصحة السلوكية في غضون 72 ساعة من الإبعاد والإيداع في الرعاية خارج المنزل. يعمل هذا التقييم على تقييم العضو فيما يتعلق بأي احتياجات صحة سلوكية أو صحة بدنية حادة قد تكون لديه ودعم مقدم الرعاية لتلبية هذه الاحتياجات. يساعد مقدم الخدمات في تحديد مقدم رعاية أولية وترتيب موعد أوليسيتأكد مقدم الخدمات من وجود متابعة من قِبل فريق الصحة السلوكية المستمر لتقديم الدعم للعضو ومقدم الرعاية خارج المنزل.  

Foster Care Line 

إذا لم يتصل بك مقدم خدمات الصحة السلوكية لتحديد موعد للترتيب للحصول على خدمة الاستجابة السريعة المتكاملة في غضون 24 ساعة بعد دخول العضو إلى الرعاية خارج المنزل، فاتصل بخط Crisis Response Network Foster Care Line على الرقم 602-633-0763. 

يجب أن يتلقى جميع أعضاء Mercy Care DCS CHP خدمات الصحة السلوكية من خلال عيادة الصحة السلوكية المخصصة تطلب Mercy Care DCS CHP أن يتم ترتيب الموعد مع فريق الاستجابة السريعة المتكاملة وأن تحدث خدمات الصحة السلوكية الجارية في غضون الأُطر الزمنية المدرجة أدناه.  

مواعيد الصحة السلوكية للأشخاص الخاضعين للوصاية القانونية لـ Department of Child Safety (دائرة سلامة الأطفال، DCS) والأطفال بالتبني: 

  • تقييم الاستجابة السريعة المتكاملة (IRRA) – يتم استكماله في موعد لا يتجاوز 72 ساعة بعد الإخطار من جانب DCS أن الطفل قد أُبعد عن منزله 
  • التقييم الأولي - خلال سبعة أيام تقويمية بعد الإحالة أو طلب الحصول على خدمات الصحة السلوكية (ما لم يتم الإكمال في IRRA) 
  • الموعد الأولي - خلال الأُطر الزمنية التي تشير إليها الحاجة السريرية، ولكن لا تتجاوز 21 يومًا تقويميًا بعد التقييم/القبول الأولي  
  • خدمات الصحة السلوكية المستمرة - خلال الأُطر الزمنية وفقًا لاحتياجات الطفل، ولكن لا تكون أطول من 21 يومًا تقويميًا من تحديد الحاجة   

في حالة عدم تقديم الخدمات الضرورية السريرية خلال 21 يومًا تقويميًا بعد تقييم القبول، يجب على مقدم الرعاية خارج المنزل (أي المُعيل المُتبنَّي أو القرابة أو منزل السكن الجماعي) الاتصال بخدمات أعضاء Mercy Care DCS CHP على الرقم 602-212-4983 أو 1-833-711-0776 (الهاتف النصي/جهاز التواصل عن بعد للصم 711). أو، يمكنك إرسال بريد إلكتروني إلى نقطة الاتصال المفردة لخطة Mercy Care على DCS@mercycareaz.orgيجب عليك أيضًا التواصل مع خط وحدة القرارات السريرية في AHCCCS على الرقم 602-364-4558 أو dcs@azhcccs.gov. يمكن لمقدم الرعاية بعدها الاتصال بأي مقدم خدمات مسجّل في AHCCCS مباشرة، سواء كان جزءًا من شبكة مقدمي الخدمات التابعين لـ Mercy Care DCS CHP أم لا لتحديد موعد. 

يمكنك العثور على معلومات حول خدمات الصحة السلوكية ومزيد من جهات الاتصال على موقع AHCCCS على الويب على  

www.azahcccs.gov/Members/AlreadyCovered/MemberResources/Foster/

 

خلال تقييم الاستجابة السريعة المتكاملة، سيساعد الطبيب في توصيل العضو بطبيب الرعاية الأولية أو عيادة الصحة السلوكية المعينة أو المنزل الصحي المتكامل.  بعد توصيل الطفل الموجود في رعايتك بمنزل الصحة السلوكية، ستقوم ببناء "فريق" يساعدك في التعرّف على احتياجات الصحة السلوكية للطفل والحصول على خدمات الصحة السلوكية. ونطلق عليهم الفرق السريرية، أو بصورة أكثر تحديدًا فرق الطفل والعائلة.  

 

يمكنك اختيار عيادة الصحة السلوكية. يمكن لـ Mercy Care DCS CHP أيضًا تعيينك إلى عيادةوالعيادة هي المكان الذي يتلقى فيه الطفل خدمات الصحة العقلية الأولية للمرضى الخارجيين. وتقدم بعض العيادات أيضًا رعاية صحية بدنية. في الموعد الأولي، يمكنك التعاون مع أخصائي DCS للمساعدة في تحديد من الذي تريد أن يكون موجودًا في الفريق السريري للطفل. سيعمل الفريق مع الطفل على تحقيق أهدافه. إلى جانب تقديم تقييم متواصل وتخطيط للخدمة. سيعتمد أعضاء الفريق على المهنيين في مجال الصحة السلوكية الذين يعملون مع طفلك. ويمكن للفِرَق أن تشتمل على أفراد العائلة والأوصياء والأصدقاء ورجال الدين وأشخاص آخرين داعمين من المجتمع المحلي. وفي الكثير من الأحيان لا يكون التقييم الذي يُجرى في الموعد الأول كاملاً. سيكون عليك العمل مع أعضاء فريق الطفل لمتابعة عملية التقييم. ويسمح هذا للطفل ولفريقه بالمراجعة المتواصلة للتقدم المُحرَز والاحتياجات بحيث يحصل على أفضل رعاية. ينبغي أن تتضمن خطة العلاج، التي تُعرف أيضًا باسم خطة الخدمة الفردية (ISP)، جميع الخدمات التي يحتاجها الطفل، مثل خدمات الإسكان والدعم والاستشارة والنقل. ينبغي على الفريق تحديث الخطة مرة واحدة على الأقل سنويًا، وذلك وفقًا لاحتياجات الطفل.  

 

فريق الطفل والعائلة (CFT) هو مجموعة معرّفة من الأشخاص. ويتضمن، على الأقل، الطفل وأخصائي DCS ومقدم الرعاية الخاص به وممثل الصحة السلوكية وأي أفراد مهمين لحياة الطفل المعرّفين والمدعوين للمشاركة بواسطة الطفل والعائلة. وقد يشتمل هذا، على سبيل المثال، على المعلمين أو أفراد العائلة الممتدة أو الأصدقاء أو شركاء دعم العائلة أو مقدمي الرعاية الصحية أو المدربين أو مقدمي الموارد المجتمعية أو الممثلين الروحيين. وقد يشمل هذا أيضًا، الممثلين من أنظمة خدماتية أخرى، مثل مراقبة الأحداث أو قسم المعاقين تنمويًا (DDD). يُحدَّد حجم ونطاق وكثافة انخراط أعضاء الفريق بواسطة الهدف الموضوع للطفل واحتياجات العائلة في إعالة الطفل والموارد الضرورية لتطوير خطة خدمة فعالة. يمكن للأشخاص الانضمام أو الانسحاب من الفريق، كما تقتضي الضرورة، للتأكد من حصول الطفل على أفضل رعاية. 

أعضاء Mercy Care DCS CHP مؤهلون للحصول على خدمات الصحة السلوكية، والتي تشتمل على خدمات تعاطي المخدرات وشرب الكحول. تحتوي بطاقة هوية أعضاء Mercy Care DCS CHP على رقم هاتف للوصول إلى خدمات تعاطي المواد والصحة السلوكية. 

تُظهر الأبحاث حول المرونة لدى الأطفال أن الدعم الأساسي المطلوب للأطفال لتنمية مهارات الرعاية الذاتية والثقة هو الوجود الموثوق به لولي أمر/مقدم رعاية حنون ومحافظ وموفر للحماية يمكنه المساعدة في حماية الأطفال من التجارب الصعبة. ويمكنه أن يكون مصدرًا ثابتًا للأطفال في رعايتهم وتشجعهم على التحدث عن التجارب. ويمكنه بث الطمأنينة للأطفال بأن الكبار في حياتهم يعملون على الحفاظ على سلامتهم. 

تشمل خدمات الصحة السلوكية، على سبيل المثال لا الحصر: 

  • إدارة السلوك (المساعدة الشخصية للصحة السلوكية ودعم العائلة وتدريب الرعاية المنزلية والمساعدة الذاتية ودعم الأقران) 
  • خدمات إدارة حالات الصحة السلوكية (محدودة) 
  • خدمات التمريض الخاصة بالصحة السلوكية 
  • مرافق الصحة السلوكية لرعاية المقيمين/BHRFs التي كانت تسمى سابقًا دور الرعاية الجماعية العلاجية TGHs) 
  • خدمات الرعاية الصحية السلوكية المنزلية العلاجية، تُسمى أحيانًا الرعاية بالتكافل العلاجية 
  • رعاية الصحة السلوكية الطارئة 
  • النقل الطبي في حالات الطوارئ والحالات غير الطارئة 
  • التقييم 
  • الاستشارة والعلاج الفردي والجماعي والعائلي 
  • خدمات المستشفى للمرضى الداخليين 
  • مرافق الأمراض النفسية للمرضى الداخليين في مكان غير المستشفى (مرافق المرضى الداخليين للصحة السلوكية/BHIFs التي كانت تسمى سابقًا مراكز العلاج للمقيمين أو RTCs) 
  • خدمات الأشعة والخدمات المختبرية لتشخيص وتنظيم الدواء نفسي التأثير 
  • علاج من مادة مساعدة أفيونية المفعول 
  • التأهيل النفسي الاجتماعي (التدريب على المهارات الحياتية وتعزيز الصحة وخدمات التوظيف الداعم) 
  • ضبط الدواء نفسي التأثير ومراقبته 
  • الرعاية المؤقتة 
  • خدمات تعاطي المواد  
  • فرز الصحة السلوكية 

قد يتمكن مقدم الرعاية الأولية من مساعدة الطفل إذا كان الطفل يعاني من اكتئاب أو قلق أو اضطراب نقص الانتباه مع فرط النشاط (ADHD) أو مخاوف متعلقة بتناول الأدوية الأفيونية. قد يعطي مقدمو الرعاية الأولية للطفل دواءً ويراقبون فعالية الدواء ويطلبون إجراء اختبارات مختلفة لتحديد أفضل مسار عمل لمعالجة حالة الطفل. إذا كنت تفضل أن يساعد مقدم الرعاية الأولية الخاص بالطفل إذا كنت تشعر بمعاناة الطفل من الاكتئاب أو القلق أو اضطراب نقص الانتباه مع فرط النشاط (ADHD) أو مخاوف متعلقة بتناول الأدوية الأفيونية، فيجب عليك الاتصال بمقدم الرعاية الأولية للطفل مباشرة.  

لا تحتاج إلى إحالة من مقدم الرعاية الأولية للطفل من أجل الحصول على خدمات الصحة السلوكية. إذا كنت تفضل الحصول على خدمات الصحة السلوكية، فاتصل بمقدم خدمات الصحة السلوكية مباشرة للتجهيز لموعد. ويمكنك الاتصال أيضًا بخدمات أعضاء Mercy Care DCS CHP على الرقم 602-212-4983 أو 1-833-711-0776 (الهاتف النصي/جهاز التواصل عن بعد للصم 711) لمساعدتك في العثور على مقدم خدمات الصحة السلوكية. 

Eligible children and young adults under age 18 in foster care can receive medically necessary, trauma informed behavioral health and substance use services, covered under their DCS CHP health plan.   Young adults over age 18 participating in Extended Foster Care whose behavior indicates need for a substance use assessment, treatment or recovery may receive funding for services through their Arizona Complete Care (ACC) Plan if Title XIX or non-Title XIX services through the Regional Behavioral Health Authority (RBHA) and not covered under the Young Adult Transitional Insurance (YATI).

How to Obtain Substance Use Services

For children in DCS out-of-home care who are not connected with behavioral health services and whose behaviors indicate a need for substance use assessment or treatment services, the caregiver or guardian can call an Assigned Behavioral Health Clinic directly to schedule an intake.  They can also call Mercy Care at 602-212-4983 or toll-free 1-833-711-0776 (TTY/TDD 711) for help finding an Assigned Behavioral Health Clinic.  تتوفر خدمات الأعضاء من الاثنين إلى الجمعة، من الساعة 7 صباحًا حتى 6 مساءً.The Assigned Behavioral Health Clinic will complete a full assessment of the child and will work with the guardian, caregiver and the child to decide on the type of services needed. 

If the child is currently receiving behavioral health services, the caregiver or guardian can contact the child’s Assigned Behavioral Health Clinic and/or their Child and Family Team (CFT) about the behaviors and the CFT will decide on the type of services needed.

Young adults participating in Extended Foster Care should contact their assigned ACC Plan if Title XIX eligible or the RBHA in their area if they are not covered under an ACC plan.  If the young adult lives in Maricopa County and is not covered under an ACC Plan, they can also call Mercy Care RBHA at 602-586-1841 or toll-free 1-800-564-5465 (TTY/TDD 711) for help finding a behavioral health and substance use provider.

Substance Use Prevention Resources

Alcohol and drug use are an ongoing problem in the United States. Substance use affects people of all ages and upbringings. Drugfree.org reports that 90% of people who live with addiction started using substances in their teen years. It’s common for some young people ages 12 to 21 to try drugs and/or alcohol to fit in socially or to dull trauma and pain. 

As a caregiver, it’s important to monitor the youth in your care. Talk to them about the dangers of substance use and how to know when to get help.

Below are additional resources to help start substance use prevention conversations with youth in foster care.

Websites:

Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration

Partnership to End Addiction

Substance Abuse Coalition Leaders of Arizona

 

المرض العقلي الخطير (SMI) هو وصف مستخدم في ولاية أريزونا للأشخاص الذين يحتاجون إلى دعم إضافي لأن صحتهم العقلية تؤثر على قدرتهم على العمل. يمكن أن تشمل الخدمات الإضافية المتاحة لأولئك الذين يعانون من مرض عقلي خطير (SMI) الإسكان والمساعدة من المدافعين عن حقوق الإنسان وإدارة الحالات والعلاج المجتمعي التأكيدي (ACT) والمزيد. تشخيصات SMI التي يتم وضعها في الاعتبار هي: 

  • الاضطرابات الذهانية  
  • الاضطرابات ثنائية القطب 
  • اضطرابات الوسواس القهري 
  • الاضطراب الاكتئابي 
  • اضطرابات الحالة المزاجية  
  • اضطراب القلق 
  • اضطراب الكرب التالي للرضح (PTSD) 
  • اضطرابات في الشخصية 
  • الاضطراب الفصامي 

لكي تكون مؤهلاً للحصول على خدمات الأمراض العقلية الخطيرة (SMI)، يتعين أن يكون لدى الشخص حالة تؤهله لخدمات الأمراض العقلية الخطيرة (SMI) وإعاقة وظيفية ناجمة عن الحالة المؤهلة. يُطلب من مقدمي الخدمات فحص الأفراد بحثًا عن SMI المحتمل. يتعين فحص البالغين الذين يتلقون خدمات الصحة العقلية العامة أو خدمات تعاطي المخدرات بانتظام بحثًا عن SMI. قد يتم فحص الشباب في سن الانتقال (TAY) كجزء من انتقالهم إلى مرحلة البلوغ. يمكن للأعضاء الذين ليس لديهم CFT أو مقدم خدمات للأطفال الاتصال بخدمات أعضاء Mercy Care DCS CHP لإعداد فحص تحديد SMI.  

يمكن أيضًا للوصي أو الممثل القانوني للعضو تقديم الطلب. إذا طلبت المستشفى إجراء تقييم، فسيتم اعتباره إحالة عاجلة وسيخرج مقدم الخدمات المتعاقد في غضون 24 ساعة لإجراء التقييم.  

يتعين ألا يقل عمر الأعضاء عن 17 عامًا ونصف لإجراء تقييم الأمراض العقلية الخطيرة (SMI) لهم. يتعين إكمال تقييمات SMI في غضون 7 أيام عمل من طلب إحالة تحديد SMI. يرسل مقدمو الخدمات بعد ذلك حزم تقييم SMI الخاصة بهم إلى Crisis Response Network, Inc. (CRN). تراجع CRN كل الطلبات للحصول على خدمات SMI وتدفع كيان التحديد من أجل التحديد النهائي للأشخاص الذين يعانون من SMI. تتخذ CRN قراراتها بخصوص الأهلية للحصول على خدمات SMI من خلال اتباع إرشادات/معايير الولاية. سيتم إرسال إخطار خطي بخصوص قرار تحديد SMI إلى الأعضاء خلال ثلاثة أيام عمل من التقييم الأولي. سيتضمن الإخطار الخطي معلومات حول حق العضو في تقديم التماس بخصوص القرار.  

لمزيد من المعلومات حول الدخول في تصنيف مرض عقلي خطير (SMI)، يمكنك الاتصال بخدمات أعضاء Mercy Care DCS CHP على الرقم 602-212-4983 أو 1-833-711-0776 (الهاتف النصي/جهاز التواصل عن بعد للصم 711). يمكنك أيضًا الاتصال بشبكة الاستجابة للأزمات على الرقم 602-845-3594 أو 1-855-832-2866

هناك قوانين تنظم مَن يمكنه الاطلاع على معلومات الصحة السلوكية للعضو بإذن أو دونه. لا يمكن مشاركة المعلومات الخاصة بالعلاج من تعاطي المواد والمعلومات عن الأمراض المعدية (على سبيل المثال معلومات مرض نقص المناعة البشرية/الإيدز) مع الآخرين من دون إذن خطي. 

أحيانًا، يكون الإذن مطلوبًا لمشاركة معلومات الصحة السلوكية الخاصة بك للمساعدة في ترتيب رعايتك وسداد مقابلها. قد تتضمن هذه الأحيان مشاركة المعلومات مع: 

  • أطباء ووكالات أخرى تقدّم خدمات صحية أو اجتماعية أو خدمات رعاية اجتماعية 
  • مقدمو خدمات الصحة السلوكية والطبية للعضو 
  • وكالات معينة على صعيد الولاية منخرطة في رعاية العضو وعلاجه، حسب الحاجة 
  • أعضاء الفريق السريري المنخرط في رعاية العضو 

 

وفي أوقات أخرى، قد يكون من المفيد مشاركة معلومات الصحة السلوكية الخاصة بالعضو مع وكالات أخرى مثل المدارس. قد يكون هناك حاجة إلى الحصول على إذن مكتوب قبل مشاركة معلومات العضو. 

يمكن للأب بالتبني أو طاقم منزل السكن الجماعي أو شخص آخر أو الوكالة التي وُضعَت رعاية الطفل في أيديها بواسطة إدارة أريزونا لسلامة الأطفال (DCS) الموافقة على التقييم والعلاج من أجل العلاج والإجراءات الطبية الروتينية وعلاج الأسنان، بما في ذلك خدمات الصحة السلوكية. 

الأمثلة على خدمات الصحة السلوكية التي يمكن لمقدمي الرعاية خارج المنزل إعطائها تتضمن:  

  • تخطيط وتقييم الخدمة 
  • الاستشارة والعلاج 
  • خدمات إعادة التأهيل 
  • الخدمات الطبية 
  • التقييم النفسي 
  • الدواءالأكثر تأثيرًا من الناحية النفسية 
  • الخدمات المعملية 
  • خدماتالدعم 
  • إدارة الرعاية
  • دعمالعائلة 
  • تأجيل
  • خدمات لغة الإشارة أو الترجمة الشفهية  
  • النقل
  • خدمات التدخل في الأزمات

Behavioral Health

Members receive behavioral health coverage through Mercy Care Department of Child Safety Comprehensive Health Plan.  

We’re here to help you and the children in your care. Our behavioral health services are designed to meet the needs of children and their familiesWe want to help the child and the whole family thrive. We believe that treating the whole child is one of the keys to achieving that goal. Mercy Care DCS CHP allows you and the member to choose  the child’s health care providers. We work with you and the child to find someone who fits the child’s health and wellness goals.  

Being removed from their home and placed in foster care is difficult and can be a traumatic experience for any child. Many children are placed in foster care due to some form of serious abuse or neglect. Research tells us that children in foster care often have emotional, behavioral or developmental problems. Physical health problems are also common. These problems and behaviors can appear suddenly or occur over time. If you notice a child in your care showing problem behaviors, he or she may need professional behavioral health support. It’s important to report any of these behaviors to the behavioral health provider and the DCS Specialist. 

Children suffering from traumatic stress symptoms generally have difficulty regulating their behaviors and emotions. They may be clingy and fearful of new situations, easily frightened, difficult to console, and/or aggressive and impulsive. They may also have difficulty sleeping and show regression in functioning and behavior. In regard to forming healthy attachments, traumatized children feel that the world is uncertain and unpredictable. Their relationships can be characterized by problems with boundaries as well as distrust and suspiciousness. As a result, children that have experienced trauma can become socially isolated and have difficulty relating to and empathizing with others. 

Navigating the behavioral health system 

Behavioral health services are always recommended for children placed in out-of-home care to address their behavioral issues. This is especially important for children under six years of age. It is best practice to have a behavioral health medical professional assess, evaluate, and monitor the unique behavioral health needs of children placed in out-of-home care. 

Behavioral Health: Integrated Rapid Response Assessment and on-going Behavioral Health Care 

All Mercy Care DCS CHP members have experienced trauma and should receive an Integrated Rapid Response Assessment from a behavioral health provider within 72 hours of removal and placement into out-of-home care. This assessment evaluates the member for any acute behavioral health or physical health needs they may have and supports the caregiver to address those needs. The provider assists with selecting a PCP and arranging an initial appointmentThe provider will make sure that there is follow up by an ongoing behavioral health team to support the member and out-of-home caregiver.  

Foster Care Line 

If a behavioral health provider has not called you to make an appointment to arrange for an Integrated Rapid Response service within 24 hours after the member enters out-of-home care, call the Crisis Response Network Foster Care Line at 602-633-0763. 

All Mercy Care DCS CHP members must receive Behavioral Health services through an assigned behavioral health clinic Mercy Care DCS CHP requests that the appointment with the Integrated Rapid Response Team be arranged and ongoing Behavioral Health services occur within the timeframes listed below.  

Behavioral health appointments for persons in legal custody of the Department of Child Safety (DCS) and adopted children: 

  • Integrated Rapid Response Assessment (IRRA) – To be completed no later than 72 hours after notification by DCS that a child has been removed from their home 
  • Initial assessment – within seven calendar days after referral or request for behavioral health services (unless completed at the IRRA) 
  • Initial appointment – within time frames indicated by clinical need, but no later than 21 calendar days after the initial assessment/intake  
  • Ongoing behavioral health services – within the time frames according to the needs of the child, but no longer than 21 calendar days from the identification of need   

If clinically necessary services aren’t provided within 21 calendar days after intake assessment, the out-of-home caregiver (e.g., foster parent, kinship or group home) should call Mercy Care DCS CHP Member Services at 602-212-4983 or 1-833-711-0776 (TTY/TDD 711). Or, you can email the Mercy Care Single Point of Contact at DCS@mercycareaz.orgYou should also reach out to the AHCCCS Clinical Resolution Unit line at 602-364-4558 or dcs@azhcccs.gov. The caregiver may then call any AHCCCS-registered providers directly, whether or not they are a part of the Mercy Care DCS CHP provider network, to schedule an appointment. 

You can find information about Behavioral Health services and more contacts on the AHCCCS website at  

www.azahcccs.gov/Members/AlreadyCovered/MemberResources/Foster/

 

During the Integrated Rapid Response Assessment, the clinician will assist in connecting the member to a Primary Care Physician, Assigned Behavioral Health Clinic or an Integrated Health Home.  After the child in your care becomes connected to a Behavioral Health Home, you will develop a “team” to help you identify the child’s behavioral health needs and get behavioral health services. We call these clinical teamsmore specifically Child and Family Teams.  

 

You can choose a behavioral health clinic. Mercy Care DCS CHP can also assign you to a clinicThe clinic is where the child receives primary outpatient mental health services. Some clinics also offer physical health care. At the initial appointment, you can work with the DCS specialist to help determine who you want on the child’s clinical team. The team will work with the child on his or her goals. They will provide ongoing assessment and service planning. The members of the team will depend on the behavioral health professionals working with the child. Teams can include family members, guardians, friends, clergy and other supportive people from the community. Many times, the assessment that’s done at the first appointment won’t be complete. You’ll be working with members of the child’s team to continue that assessment process. This allows the child and the child’s team to always review progress and needs so that they get the best care. The treatment plan, also called an Individual Service Plan (ISP), should include all the services that the child needs, such as housing, support services, counseling, and transportation. The team should update the plan at least once a year, according to the child’s needs.  

 

The Child and Family Team (CFT) is a defined group of people. It includes, at a minimum, the child, DCS Specialist and his/her caregiver, a behavioral health representative and any individuals important in the child’s life identified and invited to participate by the child and family. This may include, for example, teachers, extended family members, friends, family support partners, health care providers, coaches, community resource providers, representatives from religious affiliations. It can also include representatives from other service systems like Juvenile Probation or Division of Developmental Disabilities (DDD). The size, scope and intensity of involvement of the team members are determined by the goal established for the child, the needs of the family in providing for the child and the resources needed to develop an effective service plan. People can join or leave the team, as needed, to make sure the child gets the best care. 

Mercy Care DCS CHP members are eligible for behavioral health services, which include drug and alcohol abuse services. Mercy Care DCS CHP Member ID cards have a phone number to access behavioral health and substance use services. 

Research on resilience in children demonstrates that an essential support needed for children to develop selfcare skills and confidence is the reliable presence of a caring, and protective parent/caregiver who can help shield children against difficult experiences. They can be a consistent resource for children in their care, encouraging them to talk about the experiences. And they can provide reassurance to the children that the adults in their life are working to keep them safe. 

Behavioral health services include, but are not limited to: 

  • Behavior management (behavioral health personal assistance, family support, home care training, self-help, peer support) 
  • Behavioral health case management services (limited) 
  • Behavioral health nursing services 
  • Behavioral health residential facilities/BHRFs (previously called Therapeutic Group Homes or TGHs) 
  • Behavior health therapeutic home care services  therapeutic foster care 
  • Emergency behavioral health care 
  • Emergency and non-emergency transportation 
  • Evaluation and assessment 
  • Individual, group, and family therapy and counseling 
  • Inpatient hospital services 
  • Non-hospital inpatient psychiatric facilities (Behavioral Health Inpatient Facilities/BHIFs previously called residential treatment centers or RTCs) 
  • Laboratory and radiology services for psychotropic medication regulation and diagnosis 
  • Opioid agonist treatment 
  • Psychosocial rehabilitation (living skills training, health promotion, supportive employment services) 
  • Psychotropic medication, adjustment and monitoring 
  • Respite care 
  • Substance use services  
  • Behavioral health screening 

The child’s PCP may be able to help if the child has depression, anxiety, attention deficit hyperactivity disorder (ADHD), or opioid use concerns. PCPs may give the child medicine, watch how the medicine is working and order different tests in order to determine the best course of action to address the child’s condition. If you would like the child’s PCP to help if you feel the child has depression, anxiety, ADHD, or opioid use concerns, you should call the child’s PCP directly.  

You do not need a referral from the child’s PCP for behavioral health services. If you would like behavioral health services, call the behavioral health provider directly to set up an appointment. You can also call Mercy Care DCS CHP Member Services at 602-212-4983 or 1-833-711-0776 (TTY/TDD 711) for help with finding a behavioral health provider. 

Serious mental illness (SMI) is a description used in Arizona for people who need additional support because their mental health impacts their ability to function. Additional services available to those who have a SMI designation can include housing, help from human rights advocates, case management, Assertive Community Treatment (ACT) and more. The SMI diagnoses considered are:  

  • Psychotic disorders  
  • Bipolar disorders 
  • Obsessive-compulsive disorders  
  • Depressive disorder  
  • Mood disorders  
  • Anxiety disorder  
  • Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD) 
  • Personality disorders  
  • Dissociative Disorder  

To be eligible for SMI services, a person must have both an SMI qualifying condition and functional impairment caused by the qualifying condition. Providers are required to screen individuals for potential SMI. Adults receiving general mental health or substance use services must be regularly screened for SMI. Transition aged youth (TAY) may be screened as part of their transition into adulthood. Members that do not have a CFT or a Children’s Provider can call Mercy Care DCS CHP Member Services to set up an SMI determination screening.  

A member’s guardian or legal representative can also make the request. If a hospital requests an evaluation, it is considered an Urgent Referral and the contracted provider will go out within 24 hours to do the evaluation.  

Members must be at least 17 and half years of age to have a SMI evaluation. SMI evaluations must be completed within 7 business days of the SMI determination referral request. Providers then send their SMI evaluation packets to Crisis Response Network, Inc. (CRN). CRN reviews all applications for SMI services and makes the determining entity to make the final SMI determination. CRN makes its determinations about eligibility for SMI services by following the state's guidelines/criteria. Members will be sent a written notice of the SMI determination decision within three business days of the initial assessment. The written notice will include information about the member’s right to appeal the decision.  

For more information about getting a Serious Mental Illness (SMI) designation, you can call Mercy Care DCS CHP Member Services. at 602-212-4983 or 1-833-711-0776 (TTY/TDD 711). You can also call the Crisis Response Network at 602-845-3594 or 1-855-832-2866

There are laws about who can see the member’s behavioral health information with or without permission. Substance use treatment and communicable disease information (for example, HIV/AIDS information) cannot be shared with others without written permission. 

At times, permission is not needed to share your behavioral health information to help arrange and pay for your care. These times could include the sharing of information with: 

  • Physicians and other agencies providing health, social, or welfare services 
  • The member’s medical and behavioral health providers 
  • Certain state agencies involved in the member’s care and treatment, as needed 
  • Members of the clinical team involved in the member’s care 

 

At other times, it may be helpful to share the member’s behavioral health information with other agencies, such as schools. Written permission may be required before the member’s information is shared. 

A foster parent, group home staff or other person or agency in whose care the child has been placed by the Department of Child Safety (DCS) can consent to evaluation and treatment for routine medical and dental treatment and procedures, including behavioral health services. 

Examples of behavioral health services to which out-of-home caregivers can give consent include:  

  • Assessment and service planning 
  • Counseling and therapy 
  • Rehabilitation services 
  • Medical services 
  • Psychiatric evaluation 
  • Most psychotropic medication 
  • Laboratory services 
  • Support services 
  • Care management 
  • Family support 
  • Respite 
  • Sign language or oral interpretive services  
  • Transportation 
  • Crisis intervention services